Embers software development ideas

I’m a web programmer, well was until I quit my job a couple of months ago. Perhaps some of you guys are also into similar things. This forum is great, hats off to the person who put it together. The google drive is brilliant as well.

Some ideas I had

• Building on the shared drive, have a web form where you upload tunas into the tuna repository, including prompting the setting of metadata on a web form and adding cover art. This would make it hard to forget to set the meta fields.

• Building on the web upload interface, have a widget that can be embedded in posts, like soundcloud, but it belongs to us instead. This would reduce reliance on soundcloud and mean that paid subscriptions may no longer be necessary. I have to pay soundcloud as I have a lot of tunas on my page that disappear when I stop paying them so ditching that monthly expense would be nice! Soundcloud is very expensive really, since the cost of hosting is tiny compared to what they charge for it.

• Furthermore, you could choose to upload your tuna to soundcloud behind the scenes when you submit our own upload form, so you’ve got less work to do manually putting it in both places, if you so choose. I did something like this once for a previous employer.

• Other ideas are a browser showing tunes sorted with most recent at the top so that you can keep on top of the latest material, and perhaps the ability to make comments on individual tunas as well. We could even have emberist profile pages listing a particular artists discography.

• Mix uploads could be a thing, using the same kind of platform.

• The tuna management system could be released in stages incrementally, e.g. do the uploader first, then the widget, and so on.

• Something else - when someone goes live, they could press a button that sends push notifications to people’s phones so they can get the heads up. Well unless people want to keep it super secret of course :wink: